What IS a Blog Award??


As far as I can tell, it combines the interesting parts of a chain letter – without the death threats- and  a creative writing assignment. It’s a way to meet other bloggers, discover interesting new blogs to follow, and give readers a snapshot of who I am at the same time.

I tried to find info on WordPress and the internet about blog awards, and while they are not the same as a Webby, or  The Pulitzer Prize , they are still an honor to receive.

Nominating another blogger is like sending them a greeting card or a short note on foofy stationery with cool stickers, etc. that says, “Hey! I visited your blog and read some of your posts. I like what you’ve done with the place. Welcome to the neighborhood.”

There are always rules, which kind of makes me nervous. Are these really rules, or just guidelines? Can I take what I like and leave the rest? Do I have to follow all of them to the letter to accept the award? ie: I was nominated for The Liebster Award, and one of the rules was that I could only nominate blogs that had 200 or less followers. I barely know how to determine how many followers MY blog has!

I am really new to blogging (Pajarigirls launched August 2012 and I subscribed to maybe 2 blogs before that). Help. Me. I’m raising my hand because I fell behind!!

Is this right? Other thoughts on Blog Awards?

7 responses to this post.

  1. Haha, I make up the rules as I go and no one’s complained yet… even going so far as using my sticker chart on the side instead of posting the actual badge. The only blogger award out there that you’ll get in trouble for changing is the Blog of the Year award, but to avoid that nonsense, I just change it to another award whenever I get it. 😀 For the Liebsters, I try to give it to newbie bloggers… so less than a year of posts, or less than a hundred posts, or less than 200 followers. Totally arbitrary, but it makes sense to me, haha! 🙂 Congrats on your award (well-deserved!). 🙂

  2. Yeah, I pretty much treat Blogger Awards as chain letters, and ignore them.

    • Thanks for letting me know what you do with them…lol I didn’t even know it was an option to not accept. I thought I had to do it, STAT!

  3. Since you nominated ME, I thank you again. I’m still working on my own response, since 1) I only follow a few people, 2) figuring out their stats is tough and 3) my one year old tends to unplug the computer if I’m on it for longer than five minutes. No joke. Thanks for posting this, I had questions too.

    • That was the Liebster, right? Check out Rara’s comment; wish I’d known THAT before I started lol!

      Halfway through crafting my own response, I started to feel a little guilty nominating people. I was still honored, but it took a long time to reply, and I worried that I was doing it wrong. I’m glad this post helped. I think I will add a link to it in my future “Acceptance Posts”, if I decide to accept more awards.

      Good luck with that one-year-old thing…lol. I had to wait to blog until two out of three spawn were grown and gone. The Third Spawn and I spent another sick day home today, but he is 11, so it’s waaaaaaay easier than when they were little.

      Thanks for chiming in!

      Loveyabye. 🙂

  4. […] « What IS a Blog Award?? […]

Comments are closed.

Pet Zoo Kibbutz Shiller

Adventures of a pet zoo keeper

Adventures in Wonderland

a pilgrimage of the heart

Life is strange

and I'm even stranger

Uniquely Yours... or Mine!

Remodeling, decorating and updating at home and in the garden

Hammer Like a Girl

GET TOGETHER & GET IT DONE

MuseBoxx

Space to Create

Sean May - Elements of Fantasy

A blog about what goes into good (and bad) fantasy fiction.

One Green Tomato

from dirt to dish & seed to skillet, welcome to my adventures in micro-farming & sustainable self sufficiency

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

Pajari Girls

Come with me; I have a great idea...

Laplander's Natural Lore Blog

Nature, Outdoor & wilderness living skills, traditional & primitive skills and crafts in the north of Swedish Lapland

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

The Wonderful World of Math

Wendy Jordan's Math 1510 blog

Medium Large

"I gotta say, it's brilliant stuff."--Dan Piraro, Bizarro

Elle Beaver

Canadian feminists discussing issues & challenging each other. And everyone else.

Cook's Country Connection

Connecting People, Animals, and the Land

Halifax Garden Network

Stories and Adventures from Halifax's Urban Gardens.

