Fire Pictures


The day of the fire, I bought a new camera. First I took a picture of Lois and Paul out front of the Barn, then some pics of Danny Boy’s Pee-Wee baseball game. That’s when I got the call from my daughter Harley that the building was on fire. See you tonight and/or Friday? Loveyoubye.

Cook Dollar Barn

The last week  MONTH has been a combination of a bad dream and a funeral. Every time I turn around, Lois is looking at the building and crying. It’s not just us that are grieving, either. Everyone seems to have had a connection to that building or the people in it. Who didn’t take dance lessons there, have a tooth filled there, live there after a divorce, or play Ms. Pac-Man in Suzy Q’s?  A thousand times a day we think, “I can get Harley a new toothbrush at The Barn”, or nail clippers for Randy, or a bag of Jalepeno chips that I meant to get for Doc S. (my other Boss at the Tooth Fairy gig).

There is a Facebook page for all the updates, thanks to Comet Carol Carlson and Mary Conger (who is updating it from THAILAND..wow!) called Brown Building Fire Relief Efforts. There…

View original post 108 more words

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Liz on July 18, 2013 at 1:31 pm

    I remember sitting at the stools eating dill pickle chips as a toddler when my mom owned Suzy Qs…I used to think I was so big. I also remember thinking that since my mom owned the store I should be able to have all the gum I wanted. Hey…I was 3. What can I say? I also loved when the post office was there because I thought it was absolutely magical how the mail was delivered into its slots, and the boxes were so beautiful with the old fashioned knobs. Now my kids have such fond memories of the Brown Building too…but in a different way. Its going to be hard to keep walking past the rubble…a constant reminder for everyone of the loss. But also, a constant reminder of what we still have that could have been lost, that wasn’t. 😉 Love you all!

Comments are closed.

Pet Zoo Kibbutz Shiller

Adventures of a pet zoo keeper

Adventures in Wonderland

a pilgrimage of the heart

Life is strange

and I'm even stranger

Uniquely Yours... or Mine!

Remodeling, decorating and updating at home and in the garden

Hammer Like a Girl

GET TOGETHER & GET IT DONE

MuseBoxx

Space to Create

Sean May - Elements of Fantasy

A blog about what goes into good (and bad) fantasy fiction.

One Green Tomato

from dirt to dish & seed to skillet, welcome to my adventures in micro-farming & sustainable self sufficiency

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

Pajari Girls

Come with me; I have a great idea...

Laplander's Natural Lore Blog

Nature, Outdoor & wilderness living skills, traditional & primitive skills and crafts in the north of Swedish Lapland

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

The Wonderful World of Math

Wendy Jordan's Math 1510 blog

Medium Large

"I gotta say, it's brilliant stuff."--Dan Piraro, Bizarro

Elle Beaver

Canadian feminists discussing issues & challenging each other. And everyone else.

Cook's Country Connection

Connecting People, Animals, and the Land

Halifax Garden Network

Stories and Adventures from Halifax's Urban Gardens.

